30 days of clean eating – Day 1

I have always (always being since I really started to learn about nutrition science, anyway) been a fan of ketosis to lose fat quickly and easily. It’s effective, has a myriad of health benefits, and is pretty easy to follow, to be honest. That said, having 2 kids and a full-time job has made things considerably more difficult to keep track of and stay on target.

Because of this, I have decided to do a reset, and I’m going to blog daily about it. The information I gain will of course be anecdotal, but coupled with sound science and instruction, will form the basis of the information I present outwardly, and will hopefully help other people struggling with sugar addiction and obesity.

So hopping right in, here’s day 1:

Weight 270 lbs
32 % bodyfat
Measurements:

Neck: 17
Chest: 49.5
Waist: 51.5
Hips: 44
Thigh: 27.5
Calf: 19.5
Bicep: 14

I have a serious addiction to sugar, but also a binge-eating disorder, secondary to depression and anxiety. When I get stressed, I tend to binge eat to the point of feeling sick, and it’s a problem particularly not only for the loss of control, but also because I have no purgative compulsion, so I gain weight quickly in a period of binge eating. My goals during these first 30 days are to:

  • Reset my interactions with food, and knock the sugar addiction
  • Get into ketosis as much as possible (I am not restricting fruit or beans)
  • Establish an exercise routine
  • Counter and suppress my binge eating episodes as they creep up

This is plenty to work on at once, so I don’t want to throw in strict ketosis (20 g of carbs or less a day) as it can be counter-productive to binge-resistance, like a stretched rubber band. I’m also not pushing a set exercise schedule, just that I want to exercise, as much as possible. The point of these first 30 days is to establish a regaining of control over my life. My goal, at this weight and my height, would be about 190-200 pounds, before I start weight lifting again to regain muscle. That’s about 70-80 pounds of fat to lose, and I want emphasize fat here – we’re not trying to lose weight, as weight is comprised of muscle, water, fat, and there’s only one of those that’s really extraneous.

Part of my weight loss protocol here is to employ intermittent fasting. That is, I will stop eating altogether after 8 or 9 (babies, hard to determine when everyone is going to be asleep) and then not eat again until 12 or 1 the next day. This forces the body to use stored fat for energy. Eating purely fat during this period appears to prevent a breaking of the fasted state, so butter coffee, as described below, is a good way to sustain focus and energy during this period.

Today looks like this so far:

Breakfast:
24 oz of coffee
1 tbsp virgin coconut oil
1 tbsp butter

This concoction is commonly referred to as “butter coffee” but it’s essentially a very high fat drink that sustains energy without breaking a fast.

Lunch:
3 cups Spaghetti Squash Lasagna
3 oz sharp cheddar cheese
2 oz greek olives

Dinner:

3 slices of hard salami

bratwurst burger

6 slices bacon

1 cup squash lasagna

1 peach
1/4 cup cream
3 peanut butter fudge fat bombs

Macros and totals:

Calories: 3184
Fat:
255

Protein: 144
Carbohydrate: 96
Fiber: 20

Fast begin: 9:30 pm

Day 1 in the books. My goal on My Fitness Pal is 1800 calories, a big drop from my BMR of around 2600 calories a day. Fully keto-adapted, 1800 is probably going to be easy, but lack of sleep and hunger caused me to eat and eat. Though, I must say, this was not a binge. I know the loss of control and the feeling associated with a binge (not to mention I ate more or less within my parameters, and didn’t have a carb party). Carbs were higher than I wanted, but still lower than I expected. Because of baby stuff, my fasting period started about a half-hour later than I would have liked as well.

Oh well, not awful but not spectacular. Tomorrow is day 2, and one step closer to the fat loss I desire. One interesting trick will be going vegetarian, as I am planning on doing. Well, pescatarian – fish is too healthy to avoid, unfortunately.
Leave a Reply

