30 days of clean eating – day 8 (introduction of … induction?)

Today I decided to get more serious. Having proved to myself that I could avoid binging and carbing up on a weekend, this shouldn’t be difficult, but it means a drastic drop in carbs and a new found strictness, which might be more irritating than actually methodologically difficult. In addition to cutting carbs and trying to restrain my caloric intake, I will be adding exercise. Read this, if nothing else, because this is pretty crucial:

On any diet, simultaneously restricting calories while starting an exercise program is not a good idea in any scenario unless you’re a seasoned cutter/bulker, like a professional weight lifter.

Why am I doing it like this? 2 reasons: 1 is that I won’t be doing a ton of exercise, at least not at first, and that particular exercise will be walking and lifting, and 2, I’m cutting my calories down under my BMR, nothing significantly more strict that that. Since I began this process, I have been consistently 1000 calories over my target of roughly 2,600/day. That’s not cool. I need a better framework within which to work, and so a good keto macro calculator is probably what the doctor ordered:
http://keto-calculator.ankerl.com/ is the calculator I used. These are the macros it’s giving me for a 20% caloric deficit, and “fast weight loss with moderate difficulty”. Yeah, bring it on, robot.

Calories: 2137
Fat: 160
Carbs: 25
Protein: 150

This amount of protein should spare muscle destruction during a caloric deficit, and this ratio should keep me pretty sated, hunger-wise, during the day. So I’m only about 400 calories under what my basal metabolic rate is, and that’s really nothing, plus I entered my activity level as “sedentary”. I have a desk job, but I have a standing desk, which adds a decent amount of caloric expenditure over sitting all day, and my nights are usually me chasing a toddler or going on walks, so I am above baseline, but I’d rather be safe in assuming my energy expenditure.
Protip: If you want to calculate your BMR in a quick and dirty fashion, just take your weight and multiply it by 10 for women, and 12 for men. That’s the traditional way, but I think 10 is probably best for everyone. You’d rather underestimate your BMR than overestimate and try and find out later why you weren’t losing weight based on calories that were above the mark. That said, there’s another method to my madness.

It is proposed by popular low carb diets, that you can magically lose weight by eating low carb, even if you’re eating above maintenance calories (the amount of calories needed to maintain your current weight). There’s a lot of science here, particularly regarding hormones like insulin, and there’s people on both sides of the fence. On one hand, losing weight faster than the math suggests you’re breaking the law of conservation of matter – somehow you’re burning more than you should based on all the math that says otherwise, you magicwizard person, you. On the other hand, since fat storage is largely a mechanism of excessive blood sugar and insulin shuttling it into fat cells when it can’t be used (that’s a VERY watered down version of the whole of it), then without the presence of high levels of insulin and sugar, it’s possible that the body simply doesn’t have anything to store.
There is of course a third possibility (probably several more, but I’m concerned with this one) – that you’re losing more weight on low carb because, despite the fact that you feel like you’re eating a ton of rich food, your appetite is significantly less than what it used to be, and your perception of food intake hasn’t matched the reality of a blunted desire for food. In addition, without massive blood sugar swings, you’re not running around trying to sate growling hunger all the time.

Breakfast:
Butter coffee – 24oz coffee, 1 tbsp butter, 2 tbsp coconut oit

Lunch:
2 oz kielbasa
1 cup sauerkraut
2 ounces tuna salad (tuna, mayo, dill relish)
1 hardboiled egg
1 oz sharp cheddar

Dinner:
3 scrambled eggs
1/2 cup shredded colby
4 slices hard salami
2 tbsp sour cream
2 tbsp cream (for rootbeer float)

Macros
Calories: 2503
Fat: 238
Carbs: 19
Fiber: 0
Protein:
120

Hmmm – well, we were under carbs, so that’s good, and a bit under protein, and a bit over fat. Just a caloric excess, but again, far better than the standard American diet, and still improving from previous. I didn’t do any exercise today, as we’re having roofing issues and, well, I really don’t have a great excuse. This is the thing – it’s really easy to invent a reason to not exercise, but I was pretty consistently at least doing squats at my desk at work, and I haven’t done that in a while. Stress eats at you and encapsulates you in a blanket of “meh”, and you start to realize that you’re not doing things that help your stress, and that compounds everything. I WILL make time for this stuff tomorrow, at least some lifting, to get my mind focused. Food is decent, exercise is bad, and both need monitored and improved upon.

Leave a Reply

