30 days of clean eating – day 9

Alright! I was supposed to weigh in yesterday, but I didn’t, so I did today. Here are my stats:

Weight: 262.6
Neck:
16.5Chest: 48.5
Waist:
51

I only took these measurements because I didn’t have time to get the rest this morning. In any case, they are an improvement over my baseline. As of 7/6/15 I was:

Weight: 270
Neck:
17
Chest:
49.5
Waist:
51.5

Not a drastic change, but good for one week of barely-compliant eating. I realize the weight drop is probably due to water being flushed when I spent all my glycogen, but I do appear to have lost some fat. I’m hoping that being far more compliant this week, along with introducing some exercise, will cause better losses later down the line. I also recognize that weight lifting this week can, after the hiatus I’ve had, cause water retention and swelling, and I expect these things to affect my measurements and weigh-in next time. Since I’ll be doing a 2 week induction, I won’t measure or weigh again until 7/28/15.

Breakfast:Butter coffee – 24 oz coffee, 1 tbsp butter, 1.5 tbsp coconut oil, 2 tbsp cream

Lunch:
2 cups spinach
1 roma tomato
1 cup tuna salad (tuna, mayo, dill relish)
12 green olives
1/4 cup blue cheese
3 tbsp bacon crumbles
2 hardboiled eggs

Dinner:
Hard salami x 3Shredded cheese 1 cup
2 tbsp cream
4 tbsp peanut butter

Macros:
Calories:
2630
Fat:
226
Carbs:
34
Fiber:
8
Protein:
147

Fast start: 9:30 pm

Today was peculiar – my son was not wanting to go to bed, so we played WAY later than we should have, which, by the time it was my dinner time, I just wasn’t really that hungry. I melted cheese on some salami and ate that with some peanut butter for desert. One thing I’ve noticed is that I can easily go until 1 or 2 on just my butter coffee. As soon as I actually START exercising, I should see some pretty good weight loss (hopefully).

One nice thing about this way of eating is that the lowness of the carbs, coupled with the steadily high amount of protein, means very little muscle loss, and on the days you exceed calories, if you’re lifting weights or exercising in general, the excess calories, again in theory, should be used for muscle synthesis. This means you could technically lose fat while gaining muscle. There’s a LOT more to it than that, and I will make probably several blog posts just about the theory behind gaining muscle while in ketosis, but that’s the basic thought process.

Leave a Reply

