30 days of clean eating – day 10

Good morning! Today was pretty solid (ish). I had to go to work but my son was in a GREAT mood, so we played for a while before we left the house. That always elevates my mood. No workout today – I had to make a stop before work and I didn’t have time. No worries, though, because I had roofers coming over to check on the leaking, and I spent four hours running around, cleaning the house, moving beds, and mowing the lawn. I was a sweaty mess, but it was a great to get my lungs working and feeling physically tired at bedtime.

Breakfast
Coffee, 24 oz, 1 tbsp butter, 1.5 tbsp coconut oil, 2tbsp cream

Lunch:
Cheddar burger, Hyvee 6oz
Low carb wrap
1/4 cup shredded cheese
1 roma tomato
1 tbsp mayo
1 oz mocha almonds

Dinner:
Porkchop, 8 oz
Ranch dressing, 2 tbsp
Peanut butter, 4 tbsp
Refried beans, 1/2 cup
Cream, 2 tbsp

Macros:
Calories: 2051
Fat: 162
Carbs: 59
Fiber: 19
Protein: 108

Something that I have noticed over the years of doing keto as a way of eating is that my threshold for sweating is a lot lower, particularly when it’s humid. Less physical activity causes my body to get hot much more quickly, and I’ve often found myself waking up drenched in sweat in the middle of the night (which was terrifying because I used to be borderline obsessed with my health, so I always thought it meant I had cancer). It’s definitely something that I find more and more common when I’m in ketosis, and especially when I’m just starting on a lifting routine – I will be drenched in sweat within 10 minutes. It normalizes after a while, but then my body seems primed for the rest of the day to sweat easily, and I’ve always gotten hot quickly anyway (a trait I’ve passed onto my son and daughter, apparently). It’s something to consider that if you’re getting hot and flushed easily, it’s very possible it’s the ketosis, and though I’m not 100% on the mechanism that causes this, I feel like it’s something worth studying a bit and making a full blog post for the topic.

Today I stayed under for calories, for I think the first time since this whole thing started, so that’s awesome! I didn’t get my protein goals again, did better on fiber, and probably should make it a point to eat some more salad this weekend, as my energy has been dipping and I need magnesium and potassium probably pretty badly.

Leave a Reply

