30 days of clean eating – day 11

Today was rushed – starting to sense a pattern? Believe it or not, we’ve actually gotten better about house maintenance and getting ready in the morning/at night. Establishing routines has helped a lot, and for me, making dinner and lunch the night before makes it much more likely I’ll stay on track with keto and not just resort to eating at McDonald’s or throwing a pizza in the oven, or something similarly unappealing. Relatively soon, we are transitioning back to a fully vegetarian diet as a family, so I will be posting meals on here, with pictures and everything, like a real boy! There’s not a lot out there about doing low carb while maintaining a vegetarian diet, so I think that I can help people in similar situations out. That’s the goal, anyway.

Breakfast:
Butter coffee, 24 oz coffee, 1.5 tbsp coconut oil, 1 tbsp butter, 2 tbsp cream

Lunch:
Porkchop, 8 oz
Butter, 1 tbsp
Cauliflower mash, 1.5 cups

Dinner:
Taquito (for shame)
Hyvee cheddar burger, 6oz
Root beer float (heavy cream) 2 tbsp
Mayo 1tbsp
Ranch 1tbsp
Roasted cauliflower about 1.5 cups
Peanut butter, 4 tbsp

Macros:
Calories: 2146
Fat: 175
Carbs: 53
Fiber: 8
Protein: 100

Not sure if it’s the total exhaustion of carbs or the weather (humid, rainy, allergy-aggravating) but I was dead tired tonight. I barely had the energy to finish the dishes and get the house cleaned up in a very minor fashion. I know I only sleep about 4.5-6 hours a night (and 6 is pretty rare), but I was extra mega tired today.

This brings a bit of attention to making sure my electrolytes are being maintained and paid proper attention. Making sure you get a decent amount of magnesium, potassium, and sodium daily can really make the physical and mental difference when you’re transitioning into and maintaining ketosis, in terms of energy and mental clarity. A lot of people supplement, and that’s fine, but you can get most/all of what you need from whole food sources.

So today wasn’t that good in terms of diet. I stayed under my emergency threshold of 50 carbs, but barely. It’s a good exercise in recognizing insidious, hidden carbs/calories of the little bit here and there: a dollop of mayo, a tablespoon of peanut butter, a bite of cheese. This all adds up and is often the last refuge of stubborn fat, before people realize all the little bites that they’re not paying attention to or tracking when they’ve stalled on weight loss.

I didn’t make my protein goal today, either. Grumble, grumble.
On the plus side, I have an actual blog post that’s not this that I’m working on, so that will be fun!

Leave a Reply

